St Edward’s Secondary School Bukuumi is a catholic founded Government Aided Mixed Boarding school offering Ordinary and Advanced levels of education.
It was started in 1945 by White Fathers as a boy’s junior school to feed sister schools by then which were called Colleges. Among these colleges were St. Mary’s College Kisubi, St, Henry’s College Kitovu, Namilyango College, St. Leos Kyegobe etc.

Later, in 1948, the white fathers handed over the school to the Brothers of Christian Instruction for management up to date.
Brother James Monette (a Canadian) pioneered the leadership of the school taking over from Rev. Fr. Brown. When the European Missionaries left Uganda in the 1970s due to the instability of Iddi Amin’s regime, the native Brothers took over the management of the school to date.

In 1976, the school became Mixed (Boys and girls) after a nearby girl’s school St. Cecilia lacked management.

School Vision: Our vision is “to be the leading school in the country in both academic and moral producing citizens of high integrity”.

Mission: Our mission is “to pursue excellence in holistic education with Christian values, bringing both principled professionals for the development of the society”.

School Motto: Our cherished motto is “Honor Et Labor”.

Theme of the year: Continuous improvement; through observation of time.

The school is known for having produced prominent Ugandans like:

  • Prof Gilbert Bukenya Former Vice President of Uganda
  • Hon. Minister Matia Kasaija State Minister, finance and planning
  • Hon. Kasirivu Atwooki Member of Parliament, Bugangaizi West
  • Hon. Nabanja Robina Woman Member of Parliament, Kibaale District
  • Prof. Samuel Kyamanya Principal College of Agriculture, Makerere University
  • Mr. Edward Nantamu Senior Environmentalist, Virginia USA
  • Mr. Emmy Allio Deputy Director, External Security Organisation.

And many others

The School’s Head teachers dating back to 1945 are as follows:

2005-to date       Bro. Aganyira Deodati
2003-2005       Bro. Evarist Baguma
1995-2003       Bro. Joseph Byamukama
1992-1995       Bro. Aloysius Braruhanga
1988-1991       Bro. Aganze Francis
1984-1987       Bro. Micheal Butoolwa
1979-1983       Bro. Peter Kazekulya
1969-1978       Bro. Leonard Byankya
1968-1969       Bro. Anthony Kyemwa
1967-1968       Bro. Paul Latarte
1963-1967       Bro. Peter Katanga
1962-1963       Bro. Flugensio Etienne
1955-1961       Bro. Arthur Roy
1951-1954       Bro. Peter Poitras
1948-1950       Bro. James Monette
1945-1947       Rev.Fr. Brown

The School Board of Governors:

  • Msgr John Mary Kabyanga Chairman
  • Mr. Natigo Serapio Vice Chairman
  • Mr. Kawuma Joseph- LCV Representative
  • Mr. Kiiza Joachim Foundation Body
  • Fr. Boniface Bamanya Foundation Body
  • Mr. Bajungu Emmanuel Marks Old Student’s Representative
  • Mrs. Mugenyi Teddy Parents’ Representative
  • Mr. Lwanga Anthony Parents’ Representative
  • Mr. Serunjogi Charles Parents’ Representative
  • Mr. Ogwang Jasper Teachers’ Representative
  • Sr. Nandawula Pauline Teachers’ Representative
  • Mr. Ndugwa Wasswa LC3 Representative
  • Bro. Aganyira Deodati Head teacher/ Secretary B.O.G

School Management

  • Bro Aganyira Deodati Head teacher
  • Mr. Kigozi Paul Deputy Head teacher
  • Mr. Baguma Jmaes School Accountant
  • Bro. Damian Byarugaba Dean of studies, Arts
  • Mr. Kaliba Anthony Dean of Studies, Sciences